Regional Reports

R5 Jan. 2023

REGION 5

By: Becky Sherven

Happy New Year Region 5!

USA Working Equitation’s annual meeting of the members will be held virtually via Zoom on Saturday February 4, 2023 at 9:00 am PST | 10:00 am MST | 11:00 am CST | 12:00 pm EST.  To attend, please contact your regional director (Region 5 director:  R5director@usawe.org) after January 25th to RSVP and receive the meeting information/Zoom webinar link.

We would love to hear from you. While we may not be able to answer each and every question during the meeting, your questions will help to guide our decisions and better understand the needs and concerns of our members. To ask a question, please use this link to submit your question(s) by January 25th: https://forms.gle/8hHPBrVWeuD14hYj9

Region 5 has many shows scheduled in 2023!  A summary of show dates is below.  Please refer to the full USAWE Calendar for all events.

Calendar of Events

USAWE Logo design by Alexandra Crippen of Crippen Designs.

The logo represents the four trials of Working Equitation and highlights the diversity for which the sport is known in the United States. 

  • The first image depicts a mule, being ridden in Western tack and attire in the Dressage trial.
  • The second image showcases an Iberian horse in traditional Iberian tack and attire performing in the EOH trial.
  • The third image shows a horse of indeterminate breeding and a rider in English tack and attire, competing in the Speed trial.
  • Together, all three riders represent a team competing together in the Cattle trial. Although the cow is not shown directly, the three teammates are working in concert. The image is intended to elicit the feeling of excitement and movement as the team moves their designated cow toward the holding pen to the far right, off the page. (Think of it as a "silent cow", much as the letter "e" at the end of a word is often referred to as "the silent 'e'" in recognition of its existence without being read aloud).

Images used on this website with permission of owners. Please observe the copyright privileges of the individual image owners and do not use the images from this website without express permission from the individual owners of the images. Thank you for respecting the work and rights of others.

Share This