R5 Jan. 2021

REGION 5

By: Alex Tyson

Region 5 has a lot to look forward to in 2021! We already have 22 days of rated shows on the books! The complete list of shows and contact information is under the “Competitions” tab on the USAWE website. For simplicity’s sake, here is a condensed version of Region 5 shows as of 1/15/2021:

May 8-9 — R5 Buckle Series, Mother’s Day Weekend Show, Hampshire, IL
June 5-6 — Acres Summerfest, Woodstock, IL
June 12-13 — R5 Buckle Series, Brecksville, OH
June 25-27 — R5 Buckle Series, Rach Riding Academy, Milford, MI
July 3-4 — R5 Buckle Series, Independence Day Weekend Show, Hampshire, IL
July 24-25 — R5 Buckle Series, Kemp Horsemanship Summer Versatility, Brooklyn, WI
September 4-5 — R5 Buckle Series, Brecksville, OH
September 4-5 — KarMik Acres Show Series, Woodstock, IL
September 17-18 — R5 Buckle Series, Rach Riding Academy, Milford, MI
October 9-10 — KarMik Acres Show Series, Woodstock, IL

How cool to have multiple showing opportunities May-October. I hope that more Region 5 members also choose to host clinics and shows as the year goes on as well.

My vision for Working Equitation personally is that it could grow to the level of say hunter-jumper or dressage competitions; essentially something within an hour’s drive every weekend. With the growth and dedication we have seen from our members in Region 5, I would say we are on the right track!

Clinics and other events are being added regularly to the events calendar, so keep checking to see if there are some winter education opportunities. I am thrilled that everything is off to such a great start; we can only go up from here!

Executive Committee

President
Leslie Martien
president@usawe.org

President Elect
Barbara Price
presidentelect@usawe.org

Secretary
Julie Alonzo
secretary@usawe.org

Treasurer
Erin O’Shaughnessy
treasurer@usawe.org

At Large Director 1
Trisha Kiefer-Reed
aldirector1@usawe.org

At Large Director 2
Doreen Atkinson
aldirector2@usawe.org

Regional Directors

Region 1 Director
Kristine Strasburger
r1director@usawe.org

Region 2 Director
Robin Bond
r2director@usawe.org

Region 3 Director
Cindy Branham
r3director@usawe.org

Region 4 Director
Kiki Pantaze
r4director@usawe.org

Region 5 Director
Alex Tyson
r5director@usawe.org

Region 6 Director
Kimberley Hillyer
r6director@usawe.org

Region 7 Director
Rebecca Algar
r7director@usawe.org

Committee Chairs

Awards Committee
Erin Long
awards@usawe.org

Coaches Network
Trisha Kiefer-Reed
coaches@usawe.org

Competitions Committee
Jeanne Bond
competitions@usawe.org

Ethics Committee
Dan Dahlke
ethics@usawe.org

Committee Chairs

Licensed Officials Committee
Christy Reich and Doreen Atkinson
loc@usawe.org

Membership Committee
Mindy Finelli
membership@usawe.org

Rules Committee
Jeanne Bond
rules@usawe.org

Website Committee
Kristine Strasburger
r1director@usawe.org

USAWE Logo design by Alexandra Crippen of Crippen Designs.

The logo represents the four trials of Working Equitation and highlights the diversity for which the sport is known in the United States. 

  • The first image depicts a mule, being ridden in western tack and attire in the Dressage trial.
  • The second image showcases an Iberian horse in traditional Iberian tack and attire performing in the EOH trial.
  • The third image shows a horse of indeterminate breeding and a rider in English tack and attire, competing in the Speed trial.
  • Together, all three riders represent a team competing together in the Cattle trial. Although the cow is not shown directly, the three teammates are working in concert. The image is intended to elicit the feeling of excitement and movement as the team moves their designated cow toward the holding pen to the far right, off the page. (Think of it as a "silent cow", much as the letter "e" at the end of a word is often referred to as "the silent 'e'" in recognition of its existence without being read aloud).

Images used on this website with permission of owners. Please observe the copyright privileges of the individual image owners and do not use the images from this website without express permission from the individual owners of the images. Thank you for respecting the work and rights of others.

Share This