R2 Sept. 2021

REGION 2

By: Robin Bond

Hello USAWE members!

Region 2 is buzzing with activity!

Many of you have been showing to get qualifying scores for the Regional Championship Show.

We would love to welcome you to Galway Downs in Temecula, CA for this show. Styled loosely after the Andalusian World, this show offers a rated USAWE show running concurrent with the championship. If you were unable to attend shows to qualify but want to go to a fun show, enter the rated show! There are also Friesian, PRE, PSL, Ranch Horse and open rail classes!

We do have a judging change to announce. Due to the vagaries of international travel, Juan Jose del Valle Alvarado will be replaced by S judge, Nicole Price.

I would also take a moment to thank all of the hardworking show managers and all of the staff. If you have not volunteered to assist “backstage” at a horse show, please find a way. Be bold and cold call a show manager and see if they need help.

Ride on, Region 2
Robin Bond

Executive Committee

President
Leslie Martien
president@usawe.org

President Elect
Barbara Price
presidentelect@usawe.org

Secretary
Julie Alonzo
secretary@usawe.org

Treasurer
Erin O’Shaughnessy
treasurer@usawe.org

At Large Director 1
Trisha Kiefer-Reed
aldirector1@usawe.org

At Large Director 2
Doreen Atkinson
aldirector2@usawe.org

Regional Directors

Region 1 Director
Kristine Strasburger
r1director@usawe.org

Region 2 Director
Robin Bond
r2director@usawe.org

Region 3 Director
Cindy Branham
r3director@usawe.org

Region 4 Director
Kiki Pantaze
r4director@usawe.org

Region 5 Director
Alex Tyson
r5director@usawe.org

Region 6 Director
Kimberley Hillyer
r6director@usawe.org

Region 7 Director
Rebecca Algar
r7director@usawe.org

Committee Chairs

Awards Committee
Erin Long
awards@usawe.org

Coaches Network
Trisha Kiefer-Reed
coaches@usawe.org

Competitions Committee
Jeanne Bond
competitions@usawe.org

Ethics Committee
Dan Dahlke
ethics@usawe.org

Committee Chairs

Licensed Officials Committee
Christy Reich and Doreen Atkinson
loc@usawe.org

Membership Committee
Mindy Finelli
membership@usawe.org

Rules Committee
Jeanne Bond
rules@usawe.org

Website Committee
Kristine Strasburger
r1director@usawe.org

USAWE Logo design by Alexandra Crippen of Crippen Designs.

The logo represents the four trials of Working Equitation and highlights the diversity for which the sport is known in the United States. 

  • The first image depicts a mule, being ridden in western tack and attire in the Dressage trial.
  • The second image showcases an Iberian horse in traditional Iberian tack and attire performing in the EOH trial.
  • The third image shows a horse of indeterminate breeding and a rider in English tack and attire, competing in the Speed trial.
  • Together, all three riders represent a team competing together in the Cattle trial. Although the cow is not shown directly, the three teammates are working in concert. The image is intended to elicit the feeling of excitement and movement as the team moves their designated cow toward the holding pen to the far right, off the page. (Think of it as a "silent cow", much as the letter "e" at the end of a word is often referred to as "the silent 'e'" in recognition of its existence without being read aloud).

Images used on this website with permission of owners. Please observe the copyright privileges of the individual image owners and do not use the images from this website without express permission from the individual owners of the images. Thank you for respecting the work and rights of others.

Share This